NEW College Indoor Cricket Team Wins National Finals

Congratulations to the following students who beat Bourneville College off the last ball in a thrilling final to retain the national indoor cricket trophy and officially become the best indoor cricket team in the country: Callum Honeyman, Connor Fisher, Connor Harvey, Matt Boucher, Eli Shaw, Jordan Mills, Brad Green.

A fantastic team effort whilst bowling and fielding restricting opposition teams such as Luton, Bexhill and Leyton to below par totals. The most pleasing facet throughout the tournament was that all 7 students contributed at different times with bat, ball and exceptional fielding captained by the pragmatic Connor Harvey to get us over the winning line. In the end after restricting Bourneville to just 26 runs with an extremely aggressive approach with the ball in the field we were confident of knocking off the required runs, however, Bourneville had other ideas and with nerves setting in we were reduced to 15-5 before hero of the hour and last man Connor Fisher managed to get the 12 runs required off the final 12 deliveries to see us over the winning line and spark joyous celebrations.

Sports teacher, Leon Sacks, said “A fantastic achievement lads, and the attitude you displayed both on and off the field will stand you in good stead for later life.”

New Collaborative Learning Trust New College Pontefract Logo New College Doncaster Logo New College Bradford Logo Wingfield Academy Anston Greenlands Primary School Redscope Primary School Thorpe Hesley Primary School
New Collaborative Learning Trust
Ofsted Outstanding Provider Logo
Teaching School Hub Selby and Wakefield Logo
TES logo
Disability Confident Employer logo
Physical Eduation Quality Mark
TASS Dual Career Accredited
SCL Sports Leaders Logo
Investors in Diversity Logo
Proud to be Fredie, fairness in the workplace  Logo
Connected Campus Logo

Click here to login to

Cedar Logo